We present this year’s Florida Green School Awards finalists!

The Florida Department of Environmental Protection’s Office of Environmental Education has named 16 finalists for the 2011-2012  Florida Green School Awards program. Three finalists from K-12 public and private schools statewide have been selected in each of the five categories: students, classrooms, teachers, schools and school districts that have implemented resource-saving projects.

One state winner within each category will be announced at the Florida Green Schools Awards Ceremony and Banquet scheduled for Oct. 18, 2012. All finalists have been officially invited to the awards ceremony which will take place at the West Palm Beach Marriott Hotel.  (To obtain tickets for the awards banquet, please visit http://flgreenschoolawards.eventbrite.com )

The finalists for the 2011-2012 Florida Green School Awards include:

Student Finalists

– Lisa Paniale, Audubon Elementary School, Brevard County

– Pine Jog OWL Team (Laurie Mecca), Pine Jog Elementary, Palm Beach County

– Wayne Oelfke, Ft. White High School, Columbia County

Class Finalists

– Bridget Cleary, Learning Gate Community School, Hillsborough County

– Deborah Pate, A.K. Suter Elementary School, Escambia County

– Hector Escobedo, TERRA Environmental Research Institute, Miami-Dade County

– Neil Gleitz, Pine View School, Sarasota County

Teacher Finalists

-Alexis Salcedo, TERRA Environmental Research Institute, Miami-Dade County

– Sharon Cutler, Lawton Chiles Elementary School, Hillsborough County

-Wendy Doromal, Timber Creek High School, Orange County

School Finalists

– Driftwood Middle School AHW, Broward County

– Sandalwood High School, Duval County

– Spring Valley School, Pinellas County

School District Finalists

– Duval County School District

– Leon County School District

– Polk County School District