Presenting the 2011-2012 FGSA State Winners!

Emily Moyer, Pine Jog O.W.L. Team (Student Category)

On the evening of October 18th at the fourth Florida Green School Awards Ceremony and Banquet, the 2011-2012 state winners in the five categories were announced.

The winners for the 2011-2012 Florida Green School Awards were:

Student Category: The O.W.L Team of Pine Jog Elementary, West Palm Beach
Class Category: Hector Escobedo’s class at TERRA Environmental, Miami
Teacher Category:  Wendy Doromal from Timber Creek High School, Orlando
School Category:  Driftwood Middle School, Broward County
School District Category: Duval County School District.

In addition, Deborah Pate of A. K. Suter Elementary was named the winner of the second annual FPL Sustainable Circle Legacy Award for her continuous efforts towards green solutions and her regular appearance as a finalist in her category. The five winners received an award of $1,500. All finalists received an award of $250.

More than 42,000 students, teachers and administrators participated in this year’s green school initiatives, which generated $20.2 million in gross cost savings for Florida’s schools, almost doubling last year’s $10.8 million. Initiatives included green service learning projects, using organic and sustainable energy sources, recycling programs, and efforts to make school buildings and facilities more sustainable.

Please find FL-DEP’s press release HERE